‘NFL’ for Dummies

Published on 05/04/2023

The National Football League (NFL) is an American professional football league, composed of 32 teams that compete against each other to win the Super Bowl. The NFL is one of the most popular and watched sports leagues in the world, with millions of fans tuning in each year to watch the games.

If you are new to the NFL, it can be a bit overwhelming at first, with complex rules, terminology, and strategies that may be hard to understand. However, this article will serve as a guide for beginners, providing you with an overview of the NFL and the basic concepts that you need to know.

Screenshot (1)

‘NFL’ for Dummies


The Basics

The NFL is divided into two conferences, the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC), each consisting of 16 teams. Each conference is further divided into four divisions, with four teams in each division. The divisions are based on geographic location, and teams play a total of 16 regular-season games against teams from both their conference and the opposing conference.

The NFL season begins in September and runs through the end of December, with a total of 17 regular-season games played by each team. At the end of the regular season, the top six teams from each conference advance to the playoffs, which culminates in the Super Bowl in February, where the AFC and NFC champions compete for the NFL championship.

Each NFL team is made up of 53 players, with 11 players on the field at a time. The offensive team, which is in possession of the ball, has four attempts, or downs, to advance the ball 10 yards. If they succeed, they get another set of four downs to continue advancing the ball. If they fail, possession of the ball is turned over to the opposing team.


The main objective of the game is to score points by getting the ball into the opposing team’s end zone, which is located at each end of the field. There are several ways to score points in the NFL:

Touchdown: A touchdown is scored when a player carries the ball into the opposing team’s end zone or catches a pass in the end zone. A touchdown is worth six points.

Extra Point: After a touchdown is scored, the scoring team can attempt an extra point by kicking the ball through the goalposts. If successful, this adds one point to the score.

Two-Point Conversion: Instead of attempting an extra point, the scoring team can attempt a two-point conversion, which involves trying to score a touchdown from two yards away. If successful, this adds two points to the score.

Field Goal: A field goal is scored by kicking the ball through the opposing team’s goalposts. Field goals are typically attempted when the offensive team is within scoring range, but unable to score a touchdown. A field goal is worth three points.

Safety: A safety is scored when the defensive team tackles an offensive player in their own end zone. This is worth two points.


There are several positions on the football field, each with its own unique responsibilities:

Quarterback (QB): The quarterback is the leader of the offense and is responsible for calling plays, throwing the ball, and directing the offense.

Running Back (RB): The running back is responsible for running with the ball and catching passes from the quarterback.

Wide Receiver (WR): The wide receiver is responsible for catching passes from the quarterback and running with the ball after the catch.

Tight End (TE): The tight end is a combination of a wide receiver and an offensive lineman, responsible for blocking and catching passes.

Offensive Linemen (OL): The offensive linemen are responsible for protecting the quarterback and creating holes for the running backs to run through.

Defensive Linemen (DL): The defensive linemen are responsible for stopping the running game and putting pressure on the quarterback.

Linebacker (LB): The linebackers are responsible for stopping the running game and covering receivers in the passing game.

Cornerback (CB): The cornerbacks are responsible for covering the opposing team’s wide receivers.

Safety (S): The safety is responsible for providing additional coverage in the passing game and stopping the running game.


In addition to the basic rules and positions, understanding the strategy of the game is essential to enjoying and appreciating the NFL. Each team has its own offensive and defensive strategies, which are designed to take advantage of their strengths and exploit the weaknesses of their opponents.

Offensive Strategies

Running Game: An offensive strategy that focuses on running the ball with the running backs, which can be effective in controlling the clock and wearing down the opposing defense.

Passing Game: An offensive strategy that focuses on throwing the ball down the field, which can be effective in quickly scoring points and moving the ball down the field.

Play-Action: An offensive strategy that involves faking a handoff to a running back and throwing the ball down the field, which can be effective in catching the defense off guard.

Defensive Strategies

Man-to-Man: A defensive strategy that involves each defender being responsible for covering a specific offensive player, which can be effective in preventing big plays.

Zone: A defensive strategy that involves each defender being responsible for covering a specific area of the field, which can be effective in preventing long passes.

Blitz: A defensive strategy that involves sending extra defenders to rush the quarterback, which can be effective in putting pressure on the quarterback and disrupting the passing game.


In conclusion, the NFL may seem overwhelming at first, but with a basic understanding of the rules, positions, scoring, and strategies, anyone can enjoy and appreciate the game. Whether you are a seasoned fan or a newcomer, the NFL offers something for everyone, from the excitement of the Super Bowl to the thrill of watching your favorite team compete each week. So, grab some popcorn, sit back, and enjoy the game!